Friday, July 12, 2024
  • Sage Leaderboard
  • Procore Leaderboard 2024
  • Dentec - Leaderboard - 2023 - Updated
  • Premier Leaderboard - updated Nov 19
  • CWRE 2024
  • Keith Walking Floor - Leaderboard - Sept 2021
  • IAPMO R&T Lab - Leaderboard

The Afterlife by Michel Nagi Ghostine Wins Bronze in A’ Culture Awards

The Afterlife by Michel Nagi Ghostine

The Afterlife

NG Studio’s Transformative Bunker 17/5001 Design Honored for Excellence in Cultural Heritage and Culture Industry Design

COMO, CO, ITALY, July 10, 2024 / — The A’ Design Award, a highly respected and well-recognized award in the field of cultural heritage design, has announced The Afterlife by Michel Nagi Ghostine as the recipient of the Bronze A’ Cultural Heritage and Culture Industry Design Award. This prestigious recognition highlights the significance of The Afterlife within the cultural heritage industry, positioning it as an outstanding example of innovative design that seamlessly blends historical context with contemporary vision.

The Afterlife’s transformative design of Bunker 17/5001 holds immense relevance for the cultural heritage industry and its stakeholders. By metamorphosing a Cold War relic into a beacon of peace, the design aligns with current trends in adaptive reuse and the preservation of historically significant structures. The project’s innovative approach to integrating symbolism, sustainability, and advanced production technology sets a new standard for the industry, offering practical benefits and inspiring future endeavors in the field.

What sets The Afterlife apart is its masterful blend of historical context, architectural ingenuity, and symbolic narratives. The design’s kinetic facade, mirrored surfaces, and strategic use of materials create a dynamic and immersive experience that reflects the evolving narrative of peace and reconciliation. The transformation of Honecker’s Barrack into a glass pavilion, crowned by a Ginko Biloba tree, serves as a powerful symbol of hope and renewal, making The Afterlife a truly unique and impactful cultural heritage design.

The Bronze A’ Cultural Heritage and Culture Industry Design Award serves as a testament to NG Studio’s commitment to excellence and innovation in the field. This recognition is expected to inspire future projects and collaborations that continue to push the boundaries of cultural heritage design, fostering further exploration and advancement within the industry. The Afterlife stands as a shining example of how thoughtful design can bridge the gap between the past and the present, creating spaces that resonate with both historical significance and contemporary aspirations.

Interested parties may learn more at:

About Michel Nagi Ghostine
Michel Nagi Ghostine, a Lebanese architect based in Brazil, is the founder of NG Studio, an architecture, landscaping, and interior design firm. With a strong commitment to social responsibility, Michel actively engages in volunteer work with Missionaries of Charity in Ethiopia and supports various social initiatives in his local community. Through his innovative and impactful designs, Michel aims to inspire positive societal transformation, leaving a lasting mark on the world.

About NG Studio
NG Studio, an international architecture, landscaping, and design studio based in Brazil, was co-founded by Michel Nagi Ghostine. Recognizing the historical significance of Objekt 5001, a Cold War bunker, Michel envisioned its transformation into a powerful symbol of peace. In collaboration with Hannes Hansel, the lead developer at Honecker Bunker, Michel gained access to invaluable resources and insights, ultimately giving birth to “The Afterlife” a testament to the transformative power of repurposing history for contemporary harmony.

About Bronze A’ Design Award
The Bronze A’ Design Award is a prestigious recognition granted to outstanding designs that demonstrate a high level of creativity, practicality, and potential to positively influence industry standards. The award acknowledges the skill and dedication of designers who produce work that excels in its thoughtful development, innovative use of materials and technology, and professional execution. Winning designs in the Cultural Heritage and Culture Industry Design category are evaluated based on criteria such as historical significance, cultural authenticity, design innovation, respect for tradition, adaptive reuse, interpretation of heritage, community engagement, preservation techniques, sustainable practices, educational value, accessibility enhancement, economic impact, inclusivity promotion, heritage conservation, technological integration, artistic merit, architectural excellence, social relevance, contextual sensitivity, and stakeholder involvement.

About A’ Design Award
The A’ Cultural Heritage and Culture Industry Design Award is a prestigious international competition that provides a platform for designers to showcase their creativity and gain recognition for their innovative contributions to the cultural heritage industry. With entries from leading brands, influential design agencies, and groundbreaking designers worldwide, the award offers a unique opportunity for blind peer review by an expert jury panel comprising design professionals, industry experts, journalists, and academics. By recognizing and celebrating remarkable achievements in cultural heritage design, the A’ Design Award aims to promote the principles of good design and drive forward a cycle of inspiration and advancement, ultimately contributing to the creation of a better world. Established in 2008, the A’ Design Award is now in its 16th year and continues to motivate designers and brands to develop superior products and projects that positively impact the global community.
Interested parties may learn more about the A’ Design Awards, explore jury members, view past laureates, and participate with their projects at

Makpal Bayetova
+39 031 497 2900
email us here