Thursday, November 30, 2023
  • TrueLook - Leaderboard
  • Procore - Leaderboard - Jan 2022
  • Keith Walking Floor - Leaderboard - Sept 2021
  • CCE 2024 - Leaderboard
  • Premier Leaderboard - updated Nov 19
  • IAPMO R&T Lab - Leaderboard
  • Dentec - Leaderboard - 2023 - Updated
  • Apprenticeship Leaderboard - October 2023
June 6, 2018

National Urban Design Awards: Call for submissions

OTTAWA, June 6, 2018 – The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC), the Canadian Institute of Planners (CIP), and the Canadian Society of Landscape Architects (CSLA) announce that entries are now being accepted for the 2018 National Urban Design Awards.

The National Urban Design Awards (NUDA) is a biennial Canadian awards program that showcases excellence in urban design and raises public awareness of the important role of urban design in sustainability and quality of life in Canadian cities.

Architects, planners, landscape architects and designers can learn more about how to participate here. A jury of experts will assess entries in the following categories:

  • urban design plans;
  • urban architecture;
  • civic design projects;
  • urban fragments;
  • community initiatives award, and;
  • student projects.

The deadline is August 15, 2018

The National Urban Design Awards are part of a two-tier program held in cooperation with 19 participating Canadian municipalities: Toronto, Vancouver, Halifax, Edmonton, Calgary, Ottawa, London, Hamilton, Kitchener, Mississauga, Surrey, Richmond, Oshawa, Oakville, Niagara, Mount Pearl, Waterloo, Vaughan, and Brampton.

Click here to sign-up and receive the Weekly Round Up in your inbox every Saturday

Winners in the 2017 and 2018 municipal competitions are invited to submit to the National Urban Design Awards. Projects in other communities across Canada are also eligible.

Designers, developers, sponsors, and owners of projects selected as winners will receive a certificate for an award or honourable mention, and their achievement will be publicized.

Winners will be announced in October 2018.  The awards ceremony will take place at a later date to be confirmed.

The RAIC, CIP and CSLA established the National Urban Design Awards in 2006 to promote awareness of the important role of urban design in maintaining and enhancing the quality of life in Canadian cities and to recognize the contributions of individuals, organizations, firms, and projects.

Click here to see the 2016 winners.


About the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada
The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada is the leading voice for excellence in the built environment in Canada. Representing about 5,000 members the RAIC advocates for excellence, works to demonstrate how design enhances the quality of life and promotes responsible architecture in addressing important issues of society.


About the Canadian Institute of Planners
The Canadian Institute of Planners (CIP) works on behalf of over 6,900 planning professionals nationally. Our members work in both the public service and the private sector, across fields such as land use planning, environmental resource management, land development, heritage conservation, social planning, Indigenous communities planning, transportation planning and economic development.


About the Canadian Society of Landscape Architects
The Canadian Society of Landscape Architects (CSLA) is a professional organization with over 2,000 landscape architects as members represented by provincial and territorial associations plus academic programs across the nation. The CSLA is an advocate for its members on issues such as urban renewal, sustainable development and cultural heritage.


Share YOUR News and Brand YOUR Business – Click here to order the media kit

Never miss the Construction Links Network news – Subscribe to the Weekly Round Up e-newsletter which will be delivered to your inbox every Saturday morning. Join over 8,000 professionals from the construction, building and design community and sign-up today!