Thursday, February 2, 2023
  • IAPMO R&T Lab - Leaderboard
  • Con Expo - Leaderboard - Dec 2022
  • Dentec - Leaderboard - 2023 - Updated
  • Canadian Concrete Expo - leaderboard
  • Procore - Leaderboard - Jan 2022
  • Corecon - Leaderboard
  • Apprenticeship - Leaderboard
  • Keith Walking Floor - Leaderboard - Sept 2021
February 20, 2018

EIFS Council of Canada announces Judging Panel for the ECC Architectural Design Awards Program

The EIFS Council of Canada (ECC) officially announced the individuals selected for the ECC Architectural Design Awards Judging Panel today.

The Awards Panel will convene in April 2018 to evaluate and select the recipient of the ECC Architectural Design Awards Program Grand Prize. The Panel may also select up to five finalists from the five submission categories: low rise residential, high rise residential, commercial/retail, recreational/institutional and renovations.

The five members of the Judging Panel for the 2017-18 ECC Architectural Design Awards are:

  • Barrie Ottenbreit, Partner, Number TEN Architectural Group
  • Paul Hammond, Principal, Low Hammond Rowe Architects
  • Steven Kirshenblatt, Senior Partner, Kirkor Architects and Planners
  • Mario Greco, Senior Associate, Petroff Partnership Architects
  • Alex Lukachko, Principal, Senior Building Science Specialist, RDH Building Science Incorporated

“Our judging panel represents leading architecture, planning and building science firms from across Canada,” Says John M. Garbin, President and CEO of the ECC, “We look forward to our Awards Panels’ decisions and to recognizing the Finalists at this year’s Awards Ceremony in June.”

The ECC Architectural Design Awards Program was established to recognize design professionals and firms which incorporate EIFS products into innovative and creative built projects. The goal of the ECC Awards Program is to create a new benchmark in EIFS construction, and will help professionals to achieve Canada’s national objective of creating resilient, sustainable buildings.

The Awards Program is open to all architects, architectural firms, builders or design professionals that have designed and completed a building located in Canada which utilizes EIFS. Eligible buildings must be occupied no sooner than January 1st, 2016 and no later than January 31st, 2018.

Registrations and submissions are due April 7th, 2018. All applicants that have been deemed eligible have until April 7th, 2018 to prepare their electronic submission packages. Submissions must be received no later than 12:01am April 7th, 2018.

Award finalists will be announced on April 30th, 2018. Award recipients will be honoured at the EIFS Council of Canada Annual General Meeting and Awards Reception on June 13th, 2018.

For more information on the EIFS Council of Canada Architectural Design Awards Program and full details on categories, registration and submissions, please visit

For more information, or to schedule interviews, please contact


The EIFS Council of Canada (ECC) was formed to represent the Canadian EIFS (Exterior Insulation and Finish Systems) industry across Canada and all its user sectors. The EIFS Council looks back over the industry’s 40-year history in Canada to chart the course forward – advancing innovation balanced with preservation and supported by independent and government validation. The ECC serves as the “official voice” for the Canadian EIFS industry. A not-for-profit industry association, the EIFS Council of Canada brings together leading National companies to form a collaborative network of vested stakeholders, to achieve in concert, what a single entity would not achieve on its own. While unifying and advancing industry interests, the EIFS Council also supports individual innovation and entrepreneurial efforts. The EIFS Council is uniquely qualified to draw from its diverse membership profile, enabling it to both explore and strengthen EIFS’ growing building science foundations and end user value-proposition. In conjunction with its ongoing research, the ECC insures technology transfer through the development of training and education programs, partnering with educational institutions and professional associations across Canada.