Monday, July 22, 2024
  • Dentec - Leaderboard - 2023 - Updated
  • Keith Walking Floor - Leaderboard - Sept 2021
  • Premier Leaderboard - updated Nov 19
  • Procore Leaderboard 2024
  • Sage Leaderboard
  • CWRE 2024
  • IAPMO R&T Lab - Leaderboard
RAIC - 2024 Governor General Medals
June 20, 2024

Celebrating Excellence: 2024 Governor General’s Medals in Architecture

The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) and the Canada Council for the Arts are proud to announce the recipients of the 2024 Governor General’s Medals in Architecture.  

The biennial awards recognize and celebrate outstanding design in recently completed built projects of any size, type and geographical location by Canadian architects. The competition continues a tradition initiated by the Massey Medals in 1950, providing an important source of understanding of the nature of Canadian architecture and the regional, cultural, and historic forces expressed in the built environment. Outstanding design considers exemplary approaches to sustainability, and the support and advancement of equity, diversity, and inclusion. 

The 12 winning projects from across the country represent a variety of building types and sizes—from a residential home to a public library to a theatre.

The following are the 2024 recipients:  

“The Governor General’s Medals in Architecture celebrate and commemorate projects and architects that embrace and exceed the highest standards of the profession,” said Jason Robbins, FRAIC, President of the RAIC. “This year’s recipients continue a long-standing tradition of design excellence, making a significant impact across all aspects of our lives. The awarded projects demonstrate exceptional careful consideration of people, place and purpose, and further contribute to the growing Canadian culture of design. The RAIC offers congratulations to this year’s recipients and everyone who contributed their work to these awards. Each and every project shows how architecture can be a positive force that is inclusive, sustainable, and capable of change in individual lives and communities. Your dedication to design excellence creates a better world for all.” 

From Michelle Chawla, Director and CEO of the Canada Council for the Arts, “My heartfelt congratulations to all those involved in the 12 remarkable projects that have been selected to receive the 2024 Governor General’s Medals in Architecture.  Each of the architectural teams from across the country that is being recognized deserves our thanks and appreciation for their exciting and exceptional works, as well as for their unique contributions to the architectural landscape of Canada.” 

To learn more about this year’s award recipients, the jury who selected them, and read their comments, click here

Check out more news, articles and blogs here

  • Premier - Box
  • Chicago Build 2024 - Box